International Public Service Announcements
The Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) are an initiative of the United Nations with a specific focus on alleviating poverty and improving human health and education across the globe. The Millennium Development Goals were officially established in the year 2000, following the adoption of the United Nations Millennium Declaration. All 193 United Nations member countries and at least 23 international organizations have agreed to achieve these international development goals by the year 2015 and beyond. The eight goals are aimed at:

  1. eradicating extreme poverty and hunger,
  2. achieving universal primary education,
  3. promoting gender equality and empowering women,
  4. reducing child mortality rates,
  5. improving maternal health,
  6. combating HIV/AIDS, malaria, and other diseases,
  7. ensuring environmental sustainability, and
  8. developing a global partnership for development.